Sunday, December 26, 2004

Christmas isn't our day

From sports.yahoo.com:
As the Kansas City Chiefs moved into position for the game-winning field goal, Lawrence Tynes was wishing he'd washed his car.

That's always been the game-day good luck charm for Kansas City's rookie kicker. But he went ahead and drilled a 38-yarder with 22 seconds left, lifting the Chiefs to a 31-30 victory Saturday over the Oakland Raiders.

``It was too cold this morning (to wash the car),'' Tynes said after booting his first game-winning field goal in the NFL. ``I was thinking I should have washed it.''

No matter how filthy Tynes' transportation might be, he probably would never have gotten on the field if not for Dante Hall's 49-yard kickoff return after Sebastian Janikowski's third field goal, a 46-yarder, put the Raiders on top 30-28 with 1:03 to play.

Hall waited as the expected squib kick bounced perfectly into his arms and then set sail behind some excellent blocks.

``Most teams in situations like that tend to squib kick them,'' said Hall. ``It was just a matter of catching it, finding the right bounce.''

It was the fourth win in a row for the Chiefs (7-8), whose Super Bowl hopes were dashed by a 1-3 start and a four-game losing streak in November.

Janikowski scored the last nine points for Oakland (5-10) on three field goals, including a 45-yarder that made it 28-27 with 3:49 left.

``This is very frustrating,'' said Oakland running back Amos Zereoue. ``You can't ask for much more than we gave out there.''

Hall was not stopped until Janikowski got him on the Raiders 36. Then Trent Green, whose fumble had led to Janikowski's go-ahead field goal, hit passes to Chris Horn and Tony Gonzalez and Tynes trotted onto the field.

``Anybody who says they're not nervous in a situation like that is lying,'' said Tynes.

``My mom's been sick and she was here for the first time. It's pretty special. It's pretty cool.''

Holding for Tynes, who missed from 50 yards and had another attempt blocked, was punter Nick Murphy, who was signed at midweek.

``We knew it was going to come down to stopping them on defense one more time,'' said Oakland defensive tackle Warren Sapp. ``We just couldn't get the little fella (Hall) down. He made an excellent return.''

For much of the game, two of the worst defenses in the NFL seemed bent on proving statistics don't always lie.

But it looked like the last crucial mistake belonged to the Kansas City offense when Ted Washington recovered Green's fumble on the Oakland 43 with 1:42 to play and Janikowski converted a field goal. He also had a 40-yarder that put the Raiders on top 24-21 in the final seconds of the third quarter.

Green hit 32 of 45 passes for 358 yards and two touchdowns to tight Tony Gonzalez. Oakland's Kerry Collins was 18-for-37 for 217 yards and a pair of touchdowns.

``Thanks to the special teams for saving me today,'' said Green.

After their first two possessions ended in a turnover and a blocked field goal, the Chiefs reeled off three straight scores, powered by the Green-to-Gonzalez passing combo that produced two TDs and 112 yards receiving in the first half alone. Gonzalez finished with 11 catches for 124 yards.

His first TD catch covered 2 yards. A few minutes later, Gonzalez beat linebacker Tim Johnson on a 26-yard crossing pattern in the end zone. His 54th career TD gave the Chiefs a 21-14 lead and tied him with Wesley Walls for third all-time at tight end.

``It was a good day. But I've got to give credit where credit is due and that's Trent Green,'' said Gonzalez. ``He was putting the ball right on the money and the offensive line was giving us enough time.''

Collins, who passed for 371 yards and five touchdowns in a 40-35 victory over Tennessee the previous week, made it 7-0 on the Raiders' third play with a 5-yard toss to Jerry Porter. The TD was set up by Tyler Brayton's interception and 24-yard return of Green's first pass.

The Chiefs tied it on a 6-yard run by Larry Johnson and then Ray Crockett, with just the second touchdown rushing in three games for the pass-happy Raiders, scored on a 3-yard run for a 14-7 lead.

Alvis Whitted beat Benny Sapp, Warren's first cousin, on a 32-yard touchdown pass that tied it 21-all at the half.

Johnson's 4-yard touchdown run gave the Chiefs a 28-24 lead midway through the fourth quarter. ^Notes: Murphy unloaded a 58-yarder for Kansas City's season-best punt. ... Green's seventh 300-yard passing game tied the Chiefs' season record. ... Collins connected with at least eight receivers for the 10th straight week.

Monday, December 20, 2004

Getting by the Titans

From Sports.Yahoo.com:
When you're not headed to the playoffs, madly celebrating a big win late in the season becomes perfectly acceptable -- and completely necessary.

Oakland defensive end Bobby Hamilton hollered through the locker room in delight, coach Norv Turner congratulated his offensive linemen for a great game, and even injured Charles Woodson made locker-room rounds to high-five teammates.

The Raiders and Titans sure made it seem these fallen franchises were playing for something meaningful in late December.

Kerry Collins threw for season-high 371 yards and matched his career high with five touchdown passes, hitting Jerry Porter for three scores and outdueling Billy Volek in Oakland's 40-35 victory Sunday that sent Tennessee to its fourth straight loss.

``This team, we feed off each other,'' said Raiders defensive lineman Grant Irons, who helped force a safety with 8 seconds left. ``The emotion, enthusiasm, we just want to approach each and every game with that.''

Volek had the second-best passing day in franchise history with 492 yards and threw for four touchdowns, but the Titans' defense gave up big plays all afternoon. Volek also scored on a 1-yard run with 1:21 left, but later was called for intentional grounding in the end zone for the safety.

``We're moving the ball down the field,'' Volek said. ``The wide receivers are doing a great job. The offensive line was doing a great job. We just didn't score enough points.''

Drew Bennett established a career high with 13 receptions, for 160 yards, tying the Titans' franchise record for catches while playing in front of dozens of family and friends. He caught two touchdown passes in the first half, reaching 10 TDs for the first time in his career to become the franchise's first to do it since the Houston Oilers' Drew Hill in 1988.

``Statistics are only good when you get the win,'' Bennett said.

Volek hit Derrick Mason for a 3-yard score with 11:53 left that pulled Tennessee (4-10) within 35-28.

The Titans later faked a field goal from the Oakland 19, but Craig Hentrich's pass to Shad Meier was incomplete at the goal line. Sebastian Janikowski kicked a 42-yard field goal on Oakland's next possession, set up by Alvis Whitted's career-best 57-yard catch.

``You can't say enough about our effort offensively,'' Titans coach Jeff Fisher said. ``I told the guys inside, 'I'll take this one.' It's the head coach's fault. You can't take points off the board like I did in the decision to go with the fake field goal. It's a great call if you execute it, but not a good decision.''

Collins had five touchdown passes for the first time since his New York Giants beat Minnesota in the NFC championship game on Jan. 14, 2001. The last time a Raiders quarterback passed for five was Rich Gannon against Carolina on Dec. 24, 2000.

Porter caught scoring passes of 32, 18 and 3 yards, his second three-TD game of the season, and had eight catches for 148 yards as the Raiders (5-9) bounced back from last Sunday's 35-10 pounding in Atlanta to win at home for the first time since beating Tampa Bay in Week 3.

``Last week was pretty bad,'' Collins said. ``We were pretty awful. The guys really came to play today.''

In the first meeting here between these teams since the Raiders won the 2002 AFC championship game to reach their first Super Bowl since 1984, Collins picked apart Tennessee's poor pass defense. He completed three long touchdown passes in the first half in his most impressive game since taking over for the injured Gannon in Week 4.

Collins hit Teyo Johnson for an 18-yard score to get things started, and Doug Gabriel caught a 45-yarder in the third quarter.

Bennett, who grew up in nearby Orinda, scored on passes of 17 and 23 yards. Volek had another big day after throwing for 426 yards in a 49-38 loss to Kansas City at home Monday night.

Volek made his third straight start and sixth overall in place of injured Steve McNair and looked sharp. Oakland's depleted secondary took a beating.

Woodson, the Raiders' four-time Pro Bowl cornerback, sat out with a bone contusion on his right knee. Phillip Buchanon bruised his tailbone in the second quarter on a nullified interception. Bennett scored his second touchdown four plays later.

Collins played great, and it shows. He threw for 5 tds and 1 interception. He averaged 10 yards per throw which helped us make something out of the game. Although we can't make it to the playoffs, lets try and show our stuff against the Chiefs and the Jaguars in these last 2 games.

Monday, December 13, 2004

Odds win again

From Sports.yahoo.com
Jim Mora headed off the field with his 9-year-old son, holding aloft the game ball in tribute to those fans who stuck around to the end.

Mora is a rookie coach in Atlanta, but he knew this was a special moment.

The Falcons don't win championships very often.

T.J. Duckett set a team record by rushing for four touchdowns and Atlanta clinched just the third division title in franchise history, wrapping up the NFC South with a 35-10 rout of the Oakland Raiders on Sunday.

``I haven't been here very long, so it's hard to grasp what it means to the fans,'' Mora said. ``But I could see the looks on their faces. I could see they appreciated it.''

Atlanta, which last won a division title in 1998 on the way to its only Super Bowl, flopped badly with a chance to clinch last week. The Falcons (10-3) were blown out 27-0 at Tampa Bay.

But they had their way against the hapless Raiders, taking control with a 21-point second quarter.

The Falcons built a 35-3 lead before Oakland scored a late touchdown, so most of the sellout crowd at the Georgia Dome didn't hang around to celebrate.

Afterward, many players donned black caps that said, ``Division Champions. 2004 NFC South.'' Only two of them -- linebacker Keith Brooking and defensive lineman Travis Hall -- are holdovers from the last championship season.

``I didn't think it would take this long to win again,'' said Brooking, who was a rookie in 1998. ``It really puts things in perspective for me.''

Appropriately, Hall had a hand in the game's biggest play, deflecting a pass by Oakland's Kerry Collins. The ball went right to former Raiders defensive tackle Rod Coleman, who returned the interception 39 yards for a touchdown that gave the Falcons a 21-3 halftime lead.

The Falcons' less-than-stellar history is apparent from the banners hanging from the Georgia Dome roof. There are only three, marking division titles in 1980 and '98, along with the NFC championship in that latter season.

Now, it's time to put up a fourth.

Oakland (4-9) won't be raising any banners this season. The Raiders had three turnovers and didn't reach end zone until Zack Crockett's meaningless TD with just under 3 1/2 minutes remaining.

``You turn the ball over like we did and you just really make it hard on yourself,'' coach Norv Turner said.

After going 5-11 a year ago, Atlanta has reached double-figure wins for only the fourth time in its 39-year history. The Falcons were closing in on the NFC's No. 2 seed, which would ensure a first-round bye and guarantee at least one home game in the playoffs.

``This is nice,'' Mora said, ``but there are other things we want to do.''

The Raiders fumbled on their first offensive play, though they did score first on Sebastian Janikowski's 52-yard field goal.

Allen Rossum's 50-yard punt return got the Falcons rolling in the second quarter. Two plays later, Duckett got loose up the middle, ran through Raiders safety Stuart Schweigert and cruised 28 yards for the longest touchdown of his three-year career.

Duckett didn't have to work as hard for his other TDs. Each time, the 254-yard back trotted on the field when the Falcons got close to the end zone, powering in from the 2, 4 and 1.

He broke the Atlanta scoring record shared by 13 players, most recently Tim Dwight in the final game of the 1999 season.

``You want to attack the defense before they attack you,'' Duckett said.

While he's used to scoring, the other Atlanta TD came from a most unlikely player. Coleman had the first score of his career on the interception return, burying his former team.

``I was just trying to get to the end zone,'' he said with a smile. ``It seemed like I ran 60 yards.''

The Falcons were true to form. The NFL's top running team surpassed 200 yards for the fourth time this season, finishing with 219. Warrick Dunn led the way with 103 on 25 carries.

Michael Vick, coming off a miserable performance in Tampa Bay, played a solid game -- 13-of-20 passing for 145 yards, along with 31 yards on two carries.

``They run the ball a lot,'' said Raiders safety Ray Buchanan, who spent the last seven years with the Falcons. ``They come out smash-mouthing, just trying to run you down.''

Pretty much every week, we come out and have had the odds against us. We have been dying offensively lately. When our passing game is not as good as usual, we play bad. Next season we need to recruit a good pair of RB's or else we will never get a win over the teams with a good pass Defense. Lets finish strong you guys!

Tuesday, November 30, 2004

Awesome win!

From Contra Costa Times:
The groundswell of newfound enthusiasm and belief started Nov. 7, according to Raiders coach Norv Turner. It gained momentum during the team's bye week and carried over into the game against the San Diego Chargers on Nov. 21.

It reached new heights Sunday night, and there's no telling how far it can take the Raiders after their stunning 25-24 victory over the Denver Broncos.

"It's a great win," Turner said, "but can we build on it?"

Turner seems to think the sky is the limit after Oakland's Mile High comeback against a Denver team that trounced Oakland 31-3 six weeks earlier.

The Broncos started the day 7-3 and tied for the AFC West lead with the Chargers. The Raiders needed a victory just to keep alive their faint playoff hopes after losing seven of their first 10 games. Go figure.

"If a win like this is an isolated example, then that's what it is," Turner said of Sunday's come-from-behind victory against the Broncos. "But what I see, and I've seen it since we got ready to play Carolina, there was a feel after that San Diego game that we have to go and play better."

He was referring to the game the Chargers beat the Raiders 42-14 on Oct. 31. Turner, quarterback Kerry Collins and cornerback Charles Woodson criticized the team's play and issued a challenge for players to stop talking and start producing.

Such lopsided losses were inexcusable, they said. Eight games were more than enough for young, inexperienced or new players to jell and play the kind of football expected of them.

Lo and behold, the Raiders beat the Carolina Panthers on Nov. 7 for their first road victory in almost 23 months. Then came a rematch against the Chargers in which the Raiders came within one play of pulling off an upset before losing 23-17. On Sunday night, the Raiders rallied from 10- and 11-point deficits in beating the Broncos on the road in a nationally televised game.

"I see it as what's happened over the last month more than what happened Sunday," Turner said.

Losing big to the Chargers and Broncos the second time around would have undermined Turner's grand plan, the one he hatched in the spring that promised gradual improvement.

"There's a process you have to go through," Turner said, "and our team has had to go through that. We've gone through it with injuries, through playing a lot of young guys."

Now, rookies such as right offensive tackle Robert Gallery and right guard Jake Grove, second-year wide receivers Ronald Curry and Doug Gabriel, second-year linebacker Sam Williams and new quarterback Collins get it, Turner said. The many players who struggled early on have matured into reliable contributors.

Curry caught six passes for 110 yards and a touchdown Sunday night. Williams made a handful of key defensive plays. Gallery and Grove were part of an offensive line that gave Collins plenty of time to throw in perhaps Collins' best performance as a Raider.

"We've got five games left and let's continue to grow and let's build on this game and everything we've done over the last month," Turner said. "That's not necessarily just in games, that's in how we practice, things we've gotten done on the field, our approach."

The recent spate of encouraging play might not be enough to spur the Raiders to a playoff berth this season, but it has everyone looking forward to each game and seeing how far they can take this thing.

"I wanted it to happen six, seven, eight weeks ago," Turner said. "You get optimistic, you get excited and all the way back to the way we played against Tampa (Bay, a 30-20 victory Sept. 26), you come out of that game and you think you're going to do everything you want to do. The best thing is, those guys feel they've gotten better."

I'm really happy and excited that wee could pull off a win like that. I really hope we can win the rest of our games and let fate deal us a hand and possibly giving us the wild card. I think if we really can get Collins(26-45, 339 yds,4 Td's) and Porter(135 yds.) to get in the game, every game, we could make something of this blistered season.

Wednesday, November 24, 2004

The rest didn't help us.

From sports.yahoo.com:
San Diego's slow, uninspired start nearly cost the Chargers a share of first place.

And they knew it.

Antonio Gates had eight receptions for 101 yards and a touchdown, LaDainian Tomlinson ran 37 times for 164 yards and a score, and the Chargers won their fourth straight game, 23-17 over the Raiders on Sunday.

Drew Brees passed for 226 yards and also ran for a touchdown to help the Chargers (7-3) beat the Raiders for the second time in three weeks after their 42-14 win on Halloween.

``This time around, they made it much more interesting and exciting,'' Chargers linebacker Steve Foley said. ``I think their energy was a lot higher. They had the kind of attitude that, 'We're not going to lose this game at home.'

``We made too many mistakes and let them back in the game.''


San Diego figured its rematch with the Raiders would be much closer than the Chargers' romp last month.

San Diego swept the season series for the first time in 12 years and maintained a tie for first place in the AFC West with Denver, which won 34-13 at New Orleans. The Chargers play at Kansas City next week before hosting the Broncos on Dec. 5.

``Good teams don't always play their best, but we found a way to win. That's the bottom line,'' Chargers coach Marty Schottenheimer said. ``It was the kind of game I expected it would be.''

Oakland's Doug Gabriel had a 15-yard TD reception negated with 7:54 remaining after rookie right tackle Robert Gallery was flagged for an illegal block in the back -- another mistake in a season defined by missed opportunities.

Instead, Oakland got a 31-yard field goal from Sebastian Janikowski and fell short again. The Raiders are 3-7 to start a season for only the fourth time since 1964, and owner Al Davis looked glum standing alone in the locker room watching his dejected players.

Both teams had two weeks to think about this rematch with their bye last weekend.

Kerry Collins, who spent extra time in the film room during Oakland's week off, went 18-for-30 for 227 yards and two touchdowns and didn't throw an interception for the first time in nine games dating to last season with the Giants. It was one of his most efficient games since taking over for injured Rich Gannon in Week 4.

He did miss two long passes to Ronald Curry in the Raiders' final drive.

``I felt like I played better today,'' Collins said. ``I feel like I'm getting more and more comfortable working in this offense. I feel like I'm seeing the field better. I have a better understanding of what we're trying to get done.''

Gates, who scored twice in the teams' first meeting, scored his ninth TD of the year and sixth in the Chargers' last three games on an 11-yard pass from Brees in the first quarter. Gates also drew several penalties against Oakland's improving defense.

Brees ran untouched 6 yards for a score in the second quarter and Tomlinson -- as healthy as he's been in six weeks after dealing with a groin injury -- also had a 6-yard scoring run early in the fourth quarter.

Teyo Johnson, inactive for the first eight weeks, pulled the Raiders within 16-14 on his 8-yard reception late in the third quarter. Johnson got his second career touchdown on just the first pass of the year thrown to the former Stanford star, who started five games last season as a rookie.

Curry caught a 22-yard touchdown pass from Collins late in the second quarter for Oakland, which snapped a five-game losing streak with a 27-24 win at Carolina on Nov. 7.

Curry, who started out as a scout team quarterback in 2002, threw a pass in the fourth quarter intended for Jerry Porter that was nearly intercepted by Sammy Davis.

The Raiders showed signs of consistency on defense. They kept San Diego out of the end zone from the 1 late in the third quarter -- a stand highlighted by defensive end Tyler Brayton's deflection of a pass headed for a wide-open Gates in the back of the end zone.

The Chargers settled for Nate Kaeding's 19-yard field goal.

The Raiders were held without a first down and to only 16 yards in the first quarter. Oakland finally got a first down 8:35 before halftime when Collins hit Porter for a 17-yard gain, which led to Curry's touchdown.

After a greatly needed rest week, nothing seems to be going our way. We havn't had a win over a team with a winning record all year. We havn't been able to make plays when the count. Our running game is terrible this year, and when the recievers miss an oppurtunity, it kills the whole team. We need to pull it together to finish the season strong or else we will never get better. Go Raiders!

Wednesday, November 03, 2004

6 straight, career worst for Davis

From Mercury News, San Jose:
We can now conclude that this is Al Davis' greatest nightmare and worst creation.

His Edsel. His Frankenstein. His agony. His Waterloo?

You saw what he saw during a 42-14 loss Sunday to the San Diego Chargers: a Raiders team that has no victories in its past five games, no hope, no direction, no way out and no chance against Marty Schottenheimer and Drew Brees.

No chance against Schottenheimer and Brees. Now there's a sentence that should chill the soul of any football man.

You saw what Davis saw, a 2-6 team that looks like it might and should never win again. You can imagine what he is thinking right now, with half a season left and a full-scale flop on his hands.

You know what this team is? It's the worst Davis has fielded in his 41-plus years with the Raiders -- from top to bottom, from offense to defense, from coaching staff to executive suite to practice squad.

Davis has never had back-to-back dismal teams. But last year's surly squad went 4-12, and everything Davis and his aides did to fix it has only made things more unwieldy, less stable . . .



It isn't going our way this season. Our last game is no exeption.. We had 22 total rushing yards which is laughable in this league of Professional Football players. We havn't really been able to get anything going this season. When we have , it hasn't lasted long. Our playoff run this year is nearly out of reach and we are barely mid-way through the season. Our defense isn't playing so great either. We had 10 penalties last game which cost us nearly 75 yards. With this combination of missed tackles and bad runs, it is getting our team more and more into the "L" column. Lets finish the second part of the season off with some "W"'s!

Tuesday, October 26, 2004

4 Straight losses aren't looking good.


Sinking Raiders take more hits

By Steve Corkran, CONTRA COSTA TIMES

ALAMEDA - The Raiders lost their fourth straight game Sunday. They learned Monday that they lost quite a bit more than the game against the New Orleans Saints.


Starting left guard Frank Middleton and kick returner Carlos Francis sustained injuries serious enough to require surgery and end their seasons, coach Norv Turner said Monday at his weekly news conference.


Middleton's season ended with a torn left quadriceps muscle. Francis' rookie season got cut short as a result of a torn anterior cruciate ligament in his left knee.


Middleton said in a conference call that he tore the muscle off the kneecap area and that, "It felt like my whole leg caught on fire."


He got hurt midway through the first quarter when Saints defensive tackle Howard Green slammed into Middleton's right side on a passing play. Middleton's left leg buckled in an awkward manner, and he lay on the ground for several minutes.


Medical personnel carted Middleton off the field, and he didn't return to the game. He said he expects to be out four to six months but is confident he can resume his career next season.


Chad Slaughter filled in for Middleton on Sunday. However, the expected return of right guard Ron Stone this week would



This kind of preformance isn't helping us. Especially going into a game against the Chargers this week. We have been slacking after the loss to Houston and it is diminishing our hopes of the playoffs after ever loss. Another problem, that we can't control, is injuries. We got plagued with them during the last game. It is hurting us this year and its making it harder and harder for the fans and from what I can tell, the team to get out of this slump. Lets forget about our injuries and play some good ole fashion football! We have the Chargers and the Panthers, who have been down on themselves this season. We have to step it up to win so let's get it going Raiders!

Monday, September 27, 2004

Way to step up!

From sports.yahoo.com
"Collins entered late in the first quarter and led four scoring drives, completing 16-of-27 passes for 228 yards and one touchdown"

With Gannon breaking a vertebra in his neck, Kerry Collins really stepped up this week to beat our long time rivals,the Bucs. Tyrone Wheatley also stepped up this game and it really showed in the Outcome. If we continue playing hard, we will without a doubt make it to the playoffs and above. Lets wish Gannon a speedy recovery and lets get the job done Raiders!

Wednesday, September 15, 2004

Please not again

Last years 4-12 record was horrible. The way things have started, it is looking the same way as before. If Gannon doesnt start stepping up more( and throwing less interceptions), we will have another dud season. We have changed so much and improved so much and to see that all wasted would be bad for the fans and the team. We need to improve our standards instead of looking back in the past. Lets get out there and show everyone what were are made of. GO Raiders!

Monday, September 06, 2004

Cuts

The following guys were cut due to the 53 man size limit for the league:
Derrick Gibson, Dwayne Rudd,Bret Engemann, Chris Hetherington, Todd Wike, Cody Spencer, Maugaula Tuitele, and Keyon Nash.
We did better than most if not all the NFL teams in the preseason so lets keep up the good work and cheer the good guys to a awesome season you guys!

Sunday, August 29, 2004

To Close to Call

After having 3 preseason games that could have been decided by 1 field goal, I'm guessing we going to have one of those "too close to call" kind of seasons.I think one of the reasons we have been having this kind of season is because we always play the other teams game. We have the the talent and skill but we play like the other team. If they play poorly we play poorly right along with them and vice versa. So lets beat the Rams next week and lets play our own game this time. GOO Raiders!

Saturday, August 21, 2004

Make it 2?

With the close win agaisnt the 49'ers( a win nonetheless), we have to really show that we have what it takes to get to the Superbowl this year! We have a great rookie roster and Robert Gallery and Jake Grove have been looking great and we hope to see them keep up the good work...
From sports.yahoo.com

"Both guys did really well for their first time," Coach Norv Turner said. "Both players are very athletic, very physical. We had a minimum amount of errors or uncertainty."


Now lets get out there and beat the Cowboys tonight!

Friday, August 13, 2004

Draft Report

Hows everyone this year, with the season starting tommorow, I am really pumped. We need a good chance to prove ourselves this season, and playing the Giants might be the way to show it. If you guys havn't heard about the draft, heres what happened.
From sports.yahoo.com:

1
2 (2)
Robert Gallery
OT
Iowa


2
13 (45)
Jake Grove
C
Virginia Tech
(from Tampa Bay)

3
4 (67)
Stuart Schweigert
S
Purdue


4
3 (99)
Carlos Francis
WR
Texas Tech


5
2 (134)
Johnnie Morant
WR
Syracuse


5
17 (149)
Nate Lawrie
TE
Yale
(From New Orleasn via Dallas)

6
1 (166)
Shawn Johnson
DE
Delaware


6
17 (182)
Cody Spencer
MLB
North Texas
(from New Orleans via Dallas)

7
44 (245)
Courtney Anderson
TE
San Jose St.
(Compensatory)

7
54 (255)
Andre Sommersell
OLB
Colorado St

I like what I see this year as being a great one for our draft picks, we just need to show that to everybody else. Lets beat the Giants!

Wednesday, July 28, 2004

2004 Raiders Schedule

Here's the 2004 Oakland Raiders schedule from NFL.com:


2004 Preseason
Date Opponent Time/Result
Aug. 14 at San Francisco 8:00 p.m.
Aug. 21 Dallas 9:00 p.m.
Aug. 28 at Arizona 10:00 p.m.
Sept. 2 St. Louis 10:00 p.m.

2004 Schedule
Date Opponent Result
Sept. 12 at Pittsburgh 1:00 p.m.
Sept. 19 Buffalo 4:15 p.m.
Sept. 26 Tampa Bay 8:30 p.m.
Oct. 3 at Houston 1:00 p.m.
Oct. 10 at Indianapolis 1:00 p.m.
Oct. 17 Denver 4:15 p.m.
Oct. 24 New Orleans 4:15 p.m.
Oct. 31 at San Diego 4:15 p.m.
Nov. 7 at Carolina 1:00 p.m.
Nov. 14 Open Date
Nov. 21 San Diego 4:05 p.m.
Nov. 28 at Denver 8:30 p.m.
Dec. 5 Kansas City 4:05 p.m.
Dec. 12 at Atlanta 1:00 p.m.
Dec. 19 Tennessee 4:15 p.m.
Dec. 25 at Kansas City 5:00 p.m.
Jan. 2 Jacksonville 4:15 p.m.

Friday, July 16, 2004

new raiders page

Hey folks,
I'm putting together a new blog here, but it's not quite up yet.  Just needed some text.  Come back later for content!!